Coastal vintage

IMG_3813

When I bought this set of drawers (original picture of them below), I had a very set image in mind of how I was going to paint them; Annie Sloan Paris Grey and White trim, however after acquiring them and looking at them in my garage that image wasn’t fitting so I  stripped all the old varnish off to see what was underneath as they are apparently Rimu, one of New Zealand’s native timbers that will only become more scarce with time.

IMG_3385

I don’t like painting all wood and feel it would have been nice to keep it natural but the timber underneath looked rough and after staining a drawer to see if it made any difference I decided it needed to be painted. I thought about Annie Sloan Graphite, but after painting some on the top I decided it was too dark and felt like the piece was telling me it wanted to be lighter, I kept getting images of the beach in my mind so toyed with the idea of white washing it. I began to paint the white on and then after a while begin to wipe it off and could see this was what I wanted to do. After white washing with pure white I added a wash of Paris Grey and liked the colour effect. I then dry brushed some Graphite onto the areas where I felt like it needed it to give a more natural look too.

I love the different colours washed into this piece as well as the natural timber peeping through. After I was happy with the look of the entire piece I clear waxed it. It wasn’t until going to paint the hardware that I noticed one wasn’t quite the same as the others (bottom left) this was going to bug me, so I tried to find one that matched the rest that turned out to be  near on impossible so I decided to order two new bale handles  for the 2 smaller drawers above and am very happy with how they compliment the other original ones.

 

Leave a Reply

